Shenayde Heldt and Mark Malogorski represent the NT at 2018 National Champion of Champions

by Admin on 10/09/2018

A selection of Australia’s finest bowlers will descend on the Kingborough Bowls Club in Hobart for the 2018 Australian Champion of Champions, beginning Wednesday, October 10.

The best of the best will take part in the three-day round-robin format event, having qualified through their respective arduous State and Territories qualification journey in 2016/17.

Defending champion Lee Schraner (TAS) headlines a strong Mens’ Field, which also features 2018 Australian Open winner Ryan Bester (OLD), Australian Jackaroos Barrie Lester (VIC) and Wayne Ruediger, as well as Australia’s number one-ranked male bowler, David Ferguson (NSW).

Littered among the Womens’ Field are a number of stars, including 2017 Australian Championships singles winner Kylie Whitehead (VIC), 17-year-old rising star Lauren Banks (TAS) and experienced star, Sandy Wallace (SA).

The event will adhere to a 21-up sectional Singles format, with each player to play each other once across seven rounds and the winners of both fields to be the ladder-leaders come Friday.

Winners of the event will go on to represent Australia at the 2019 World Champion of Champions event.

Bowls Australia (BA) will again be delivering Rinkside Live streaming to your devices, with one selected match per session.

Be sure to LIKE the Bowls Australia Facebook page to be notified when we are LIVE!

Article courtesy of Bowls Australia

Article courtesy of Bowls Australia