2017 NT State Fours

by admin on 08/14/2017

The Northern Territory 2017 State Fours was hosted by the Darwin Bowls and Social Club on August 5th and 6th with some great matches played across the weekend.
The Ladies comp broken into two sections had some mixed results early on with several teams attempting to stamp their mark on the main prize. Colleen Orr’s team of Carolyn Smolski, Jenny Sullivan and Pauline McKenzie lost early to Margaret Bielek’s team which included experienced players Arlene Foley and Pat Hogan, and newcomer Lisa Hambour. The competition took a twist later in the draw when Orr’s team had a nervous wait to see Bronwyn Chandler who had a strong line up including Brenda Kilburn, Joan Garner, and Catherine Farrell beat Bielek 19/9 in the last round. This allowed Orr to advance into the final.
In section two, promising junior Lauren Kingsley from Katherine, showed great maturity to lead her team of Lurleen Vickery, Patty Raemjanthuek, and Barb McNeill into the final with two straight wins.
The ladies final was a nail biter with the Orr maintaining a very narrow lead winning 15/14  and taking out the State title.
The Men’s comp saw a similar lead up with two sections fighting it out. Section One saw some very tight matches with three teams on two wins. The final round match between Warren Corowa’s side that included Paul Rodin, Christian Pace, and Mark Diamond and Pete de Greenlaw’s team including Barry Orr, Greg Wetzler, and Jason Wilson became the decider of who would progress onto the final. de Greenlaw played a great game to lead his team into the final winning the match 18/16. Section two was dominated by Ian (Smithy) Smith’s team including Graeme Kitto, Mitch Dunne, and Mark Malogorski.
The final became a one sided affair between the de Greenlaw and Smithy teams after a brilliant shot by Smithy in the 6th end to take five for that end and begin building a commanding lead, taking the match and the State title.