2024 NT Pairs Champions

by Admin on 05/03/2024

Congratulations to Siobhan Tootell and Anita Rhook who were too strong in the final and beat Colleen Orr and Karen Lane. Both teams had to work hard to make the final but Tootell and Rhook showed their class by taking the Championship on a very hot afternoon at Nightcliff. Siobhan Tootell has had a very successful year so far by also winning the NT Fours Championship on the weekend.

Trystan Smallacombe followed up his win last year to take the Men’s Pairs Championship with 2024 NT Fours winner Greg Wetzler. Smallacombe and Wetzler only narrowly defeated first time state rep Alex Brennan and Mick Hewitt in the semi-final 14/11 before meeting Daniel Baker and Scott Hollingworth in the final winning 16/4. Baker and Hollingworth had met NT Fours winners Mark Hall and Prakesh Kalyan in their semi-final winning 24/7.

This year’s NT Pairs Championships were hosted by the Nightcliff Bowls Club with some games being played at Darwin BC due to the very good numbers of entries.