Smallacombe and Rigoni take 2023 Singles Titles

by Admin on 05/24/2023

Trystan Smallacombe has finished a stellar 2023 NT Championships campaign by winning the NT Singles crown and his third Northern Territory title this year.

Elisa Rigoni has followed up her 2020 win to take her second NT Singles title.

Smallacombe had to fight to earn his way into the final when facing off against Humpty Doo’s Jason Smith. winning the match in a nail biter: 25/23. Smith had earlier beaten Darwin Singles Club champion Daniel baker in the Quarter Final.

Finalist Mark Diamond had earlier beaten Alice Springs Michael Hewitt in a high standard match before taking on Smallacombe in the final. The final saw Smallacombe take an early lead but Diamond continued to fight until the final bowl. Smallacombe won 25/14.

Elisa Rigoni also had to fight hard in her semi against Sez James from Darwin winning 25/24, before reaching the final. Anita Rhook came from behind to beat Katherine’s Bronwyn Hagger 25/18 in the other semi-final.

The ladies final saw Rigoni take a good lead early in the match, with Rhook fighting back to close the lead. In the end Rigoni took the match 25/15.

Congratulations to all the Nightcliff Bowls Club, and the Umpires and Match Committee for their efforts and time organising the event.