NT announces teams for Australian Sides Championships 2022

by Admin on 09/20/2022

The Northern Territory has announced its talented bowls sides for the Australian Sides Championship which will take place at Broadbeach Bowls Club, Queensland in early October.

The ladies 12 player squad will be led by experienced skips, Colleen Orr and Bronwyn Hagger who will be joined by Shae Richards previously a National Training Centre Squad member with Bowls Australia returning after a few years away from the national scene.

New to the Ladies Sides team in 2022 are Sez James, Jodie Reichstein, Elisa Rigoni, Karen Lane, Catherine Farrell and Deb Vallance. James, Rigoni and Lane have both made headlines in the state comps in the recent COVID-19 affected years, with James winning NT State singles (2021), pairs (2020), triples (2022) and fours (2021, 2022) and Rigoni winning the NT State titles in singles (2020) and triples (2022) and Lane winning the pairs (2020), triples (2020, 2021), and fours (2021, 2022). Reichstein has been making waves as a new bowler in the NT, making numerous semi finals in the NT State finals over the past two years. Farrell comes off the back of a winning premiership pennant side at Osborne Park in WA in the 2021-22 season. Vallance is a recent and welcome recruit to the NT, having dominated bowling rinks across Victoria.

The Men’s Sides team in 2022 will be led by 2020 Australian Champion of Champion winner, Trystan Smallacombe, and Mark Malogorski fresh off representing Malta in the Commonwealth Games. They are joined in the skipping ranks by 2021 interstate recruit, Daniel Baker, a talented acquisition bringing great depth and experience to the Territory greens. Darwin Buffaloes Warren Nugent, Coryn Huddy, Peter Wibberley, Mark Hall and Mark Diamond are new to the State Side this year but experienced bowlers all making an impact in NT State competitions.


Colleen Orr, Siobhan Tootell, Karen Lane and Lisa Hambour

Bronwyn Hagger, Elisa Rigoni, Deb Vallance and Jodie Reichstein

Shae Richards, Catherine Farrell, Elice Crisp and Sarah (Sez) James.

Coach: Colleen Orr


Trystan Smallacombe, Ian Smith, Pete De Greenlaw and Mark Diamond.

Daniel Baker, Ben Trainer, Mark Hall and Barry Orr

Mark Malogorski, Peter Wibberley, Coryn Huddy and Warren Nugent.

Coach: Lee Farrell

NT Over-60s team a force to be reckoned with

A stellar squad of 24 lawn bowlers will be heading to the Gold Coast to represent the Northern Territory in the Over-60s Nationals in early October.

The Over-60s ladies squad will be led by experienced skippers Bronwyn Hagger, Jill Tiller and Catherine Farrell. There will be some new names proudly donning the NT ochre this year, including Lynda Smith, Shirley Campbell, Louise Hicks and Antonia Lai.

The Over-60s men will be led by three well known names of the sport Jock Hicks, Christopher Buchholz and Anthony ‘Buster’ Quinlan. New to the senior squad in 2022 are Franz Kratschmer, Alan Bell, Wayne Hayhow, Allen Walsh, John Colwill and Greg Lawler.

The new bowlers representing the NT for the first time is testament to the significant growth in the sport over the past six years, with solid investment by the Northern Territory Government and local councils to improve bowling facilities across the Northern Territory.

Both teams have great support with experienced player and coach Lee Farrell setting a high standard for the men in both the open and senior teams. Former Australian Champion of Champion Colleen Orr is coaching both ladies sides.

Lawn bowls remains one of the most accessible sports, connecting people of varying ages and abilities in a low impact yet highly competitive setting.

The Over-60s will be competing in the Australian Senior Sides Championship in Broadbeach from 3-5 October.

Over 60s Ladies

Bronwyn Hagger, Pauline Mckenzie, Lynne Hayhow and Antonia Lai

Catherine Farrell, Jen Sullivan, Lynda Smith and Shirley Campbell

Jill Tiller, Deb Vallance, Helen Marris and Louise Hicks

Coach: Colleen Orr

Over 60s Mens

Lee Farrell, Jock Hicks, Franz Kratshmer and Alan Bell

Chris Buchholz, Bruce Fyfe, Wayne Hayhow, Allen Walsh

Buster Quinlan, Mal Trattles, John Colwill and Greg Lawler.

Coach: Lee Farrell

Upcoming events:

  • Open Sides Team Vs Senior Sides Team Friday Sept 23rd. 5:30pm start at Darwin Bowls Club
  • Open Sides Team Vs The Barbarians Friday Sept 30th. 5:30pm start at Darwin Bowls Club

CLICK HERE for information on the Australian Sides Championships

CLICK HERE for information on the Senior Sides Championships