2019 State Triples Champions

by Admin on 04/02/2019

The 2019 State Triples were held over Saturday and Sunday March 30th and 31st and was a hard fought affair particularly in the men’s event where four teams were vying to make the final with one round to go.

Warren Corowa, Mark Diamond, and Paul Rodin were well and truly in the hunt with a chance to finsh above Tystan Smallacombe, Ian Smith and Mark Malogorski but had to improve their winning margin in the last game. Unfortunately for them Jason Craig’s combo which included Paul Ryan and Wayne Hayhow were too good, taking out the last round match and removing any chance of the Corowa trio from progressing. This allowed the Smallacome trio (who won their final match) to progress into the final.

Section 2 was also very close with Alan Maher, Ethan Maher John Meneguzzi, initially taking the lead in the section after beating Pete deGreenlaw’s team including Barry Orr and Dimitri Hnaris in the 3rd Round.

deGreenlaw’s trio were not perturbed and set about winning their last two games by enough margin to retake the sectional lead and a place in the final. It wasn’t until the second last end in the final sectional game that it became clear that deGreenlaw would be successful  and make the final against Smallacombe’s team.

The final was a very close fight with the lead changing several times throughout the match. Eventually Trystan Smallacombe, Ian Smith, and Mark malogorski won through taking the match 18/16.


The Ladies Triples saw two teams take control of theor respective sections with Bronwyn Chandlers trio including Barb McNeal and Lisa Hambour winning through to the final unbeaten.

The other section saw Colleen Orr’s team including Jen Sullivan and Carolyn Smolski win through undefeated.

It was clear early in the Grand Final that Sullivan and Smolski were very focussed and produced quality bowls to put continual pressure on their opposition.

The final final saw Orr’s team take control before winning 22/6.

CLICK HERE to see all the results and ladders