Colleen Orr and Lee Schraner crowned Champion of Champions

by admin on 10/14/2017

Northern Territory’s Colleen Orr and Tasmania’s Lee Schraner have claimed the Australian Champion of Champions titles in a thrilling conclusion to the prestigious event at Darwin Bowls and Social Club. Colleen Orr solidified her spot as the event’s first winner from the Top End with an outright victory, one game clear of second-placed Beth Quinlan from NSW, despite dropping her last match of the tournament this afternoon.

A seventh-round loss to Western Australia’s Pauline Bourne took none of the gloss off a scintillating campaign for the Darwin local, who concluded the event with four wins, two losses and bye, having been the ladder leader from go to woe.

In the men’s event, Schraner became just the second player from the Apple Isle to taste success at the coveted tournament,and orchestrated his success in a sublime final round match against Australia’s number one male bowler, Barrie Lester.

Schraner, a one-time Australian representative, posted a comprehensive 21-13 win over Victoria’s Lester, which saw him finish ahead of NSW’s Jono Davis on a count-back of results, after Davis also secured his fifth win this afternoon after South Australia’s Wayne Ruediger.

The Rosny Park product finished 18 shots clear of 16 year-old Davis, who represented Dubbo Railway.

Western Australia’s Clive Adams finished in third position, after dropping his final contest to Northern Territory’s Trystan Smallacombe, which saw him fall from first place going into the match.

Smallacombe and Lester finished fourth and fifth respectively, equal on four wins with Adams.

In the women’s event, Victoria’s Jess Wallace took bronze, just two shots better than Bourne, with South Australia’s Cassandra Harvey and ACT’s Chloe Morrison also finishing on three wins.

Both Orr and Schraner will continue their stellar run next year, with both afforded entry into the World Champion of Champions by virtue of their victory.

Fortunately, both will enjoy a home-ground advantage of sorts, with the 2018 event to be staged at NSW’s St Johns Park from October 29 to November 5, 2018.

Final men’s ladder:
1. Lee Schraner (TAS) 5 wins, +22 shots, 2. Jono Davis (NSW) 5 wins, +4 shots, 3. Clive Adams (WA) 4 wins, +41 shots, 4. Trystan Smallacombe (NT) 4 wins, +12 shots, 5. Barrie Lester (VIC) 4 wins, +5 shots. 6. Breeze Howard (ACT) 3 wins, 7. Kurt Brown (QLD) 2 wins, 8. Wayne Ruediger (SA) 1 win.

Final women’s ladder:
1. Collen Orr (NT) 4 wins, 2. Beth Quinlan (NSW) 3 wins, +22 shots, 3. Jess Wallace (VIC) 3 wins, +1 shot, 4. Pauline Bourne (WA) 3 wins, -1 shot, 5. Cassandra Harvey (SA) 3 wins, -5 shots, 6. Chloe Morrison (ACT) 3 wins, -20 shots, 7. Cassandra Millerick (QLD) 2 wins